What are the Most Important Types of DNA Repair?

The Biochemistry Online – Free Online Lectures for Medical, Dental and Allied Health Sciences students by the Biochemistry Club.

Types of DNA Repair

To understand this first we have to understand the major types of DNA mutations.

Types of DNA Mutations

There are 3 major types of DNA mutations:

  1. Thymine Dimer Repair (G1).
  2. Mismatched Base Repair (G2)
  3. Cytosine Deamination Repair (G1)
DNA Repair

Thymine Dimer Repair

There are Thymine bases that are adjacent to each other.

Due to ultra-violet radiation sometimes two Thymine bases form a dimer with each other by forming a covalent bond.

This is explained in the previous post regarding the disease Xeroderma pigmentosum.

Mismatch Repair

Mismatch repair occurs in the G2 phase.

There are 2 genes responsible, hMSH2 and hMLH1.

These genes make sure if there is any mismatches in DNA, they are repaired.

But if any one of them is missing then there is no repair and this may cause the disease known as HNPCC (Hereditary Non-Polyposis Colorectal Carcinoma), also known as Lynch Syndrome.

Cytosine Deamination

Cytosine Deamination occurs in G1 phase.

In this the cytosine deamination occurs and cytosine is converted to uracil.

If the enzymes Uracil glycolase and AP endonuclease are absent, then as a result Uracil is formed and it accumulates.

All these lectures are organized and listed in detail in their proper sections. To view these lessons please visit the Genetics Section in Biochemistry II. This can be approached by directly clicking the Biochemistry II button or it can also be approached from the drop down menu in Biochemistry II tab. Once you reach the section click the curriculum tab to view the full list in the section.
Any further questions or inquiries are welcome.

NOTE: Private coaching / tutoring services are also available. Students can also get these online.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *